i'm just saying…

October 12, 2010

mcdonald’s happy meal doesn’t decompose?

Filed under: food,in the news,no ma'am.,Uncategorized — capricious_me @ 1:57 pm
Tags: ,

six months ago, new york city-based artist and photographer sally davies, started the “happy meal project.”  she initiated the project to prove a friend wrong. he believed that any burger would mold or rot within two or three days of being left on a counter.

“I told my friend about a schoolteacher who’s kept a mcdonald’s burger for 12 years that hasn’t changed at all, and he didn’t believe me when I told him about it.  he thought I was crazy and said I shouldn’t believe everything that I read, so I decided to try it myself.”

Wellness and nutrition educator karen hanrahan has indeed kept a mcdonald’s hamburger since 1996 to show clients and students how resistant fast food can be to decomposition.  should we be worried?

davies is also considering keeping her experiment going for a long time. “it ceased giving off any sort of odor after 24 hours,” she said, adding: “you have to see this thing.”

read more

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

